Northwell Health, BayCare, ACC announce leadership appointments

Northwell Health promotes from within for CIO role

Sophie Lu has been appointed the new chief information officer (CIO) for Northwell Health, New York’s largest healthcare provider and private employer.

Lu has been with Northwell for 12 years, and she succeeds John Bosco, who has held the position since 2004 and is retiring. Lu currently serves as senior vice president, and she previously served as deputy CIO. She originally joined Northwell in 2010 and assumed the role of chief applications officer in 2017.

As CIO, she will oversee the digital information and technology departments, with more than 1,900 team members and 3,000 solutions for caregivers and administrators. She will be in charge of strategic direction, talent, information, security, technology and service delivery for the health system’s digital transformation and integrated product innovation, Northwell stated in a press release.

Her appointment comes as the healthcare industry faces a crucial time for digital transformation, Northwell noted.

“Sophy Lu brings a tremendous amount of expertise and leadership, not only as we go through a significant digital transformation, but also as a well-respected and trusted leader throughout the organization working to advance the mission and vision of Northwell,” Joseph Moscola, PA, MBA, executive vice president of enterprise services at Northwell, said in a statement. “We congratulate her on the new role and thank John Bosco for his decades of service.”

American College of Cardiology announces 2023 officers and trustees

The American College of Cardiology (ACC) named its 2023 slate of officers and trustees, as approved by the ACC board of trustees.

The new officers will transition to their roles following the ACC.23 Together With the World Congress of Cardiology meeting in New Orleans in March 2023.

The 2023 slate includes:

  • B. Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC (ACC President 2023-2024)
  • Cathleen Dalton Biga, MSN, RN, FACC (ACC Vice President 2023-2024)
  • Jeffrey T. Kuvin, MD, FACC (2023-2026)
  • Roxana Mehran, MD, FACC (2023-2026)
  • Sandra J. Lewis, MD, FACC (2023-2026)
  • Akshay K. Khandelwal, MD, FACC (Finance Committee Chair-Elect 2023-2024; Chair 2024-2027)

“With the ACC preparing to embark on its next Strategic Plan and focusing on identifying new ways to leverage science, knowledge and innovation to truly transform cardiovascular care and improve heart health for all, I can’t think of a better group of individuals to help move the College forward,” Nominating Committee Chair and ACC Immediate Past President Dipti Itchhaporia, MD, MACC, said in a statement. “These new officers and trustees bring critical leadership competencies, experiences and perspectives to their respective roles that will undoubtedly propel us forward and ensure we continue to be the professional home for the entire field of cardiology.”


Leave a Comment